Concert Binge

Sarah and I went on a tear lately buying concert tickets to a bunch of shows we wanted to go to.  It’s been a little while since our last show, which was the Raveonettes at the Trobadour.  That was a super loud show, and quite different than when I saw them three years ago in DC.  I expect a much quieter affair when we go to see Ben Folds next Thursday at the Wiltern.  I’ll admit I’m pretty new to Ben Folds, thanks to Sarah.  I’m looking forward to the show, and to a new venue for me in LA.

We also got tickets to Lykke Li at the Greek over in Griffith Park.  I saw her several years ago at a venue suited for her musical style, the Sixth and I Synagogue in DC.  The Greek is an outdoor amphitheater, I’ve never been so I don’t know exactly how big it is, but I think it will be interesting to see how the experience compares to the previous time I saw her.  I’ve enjoyed the few tracks from her latest album that I’ve heard on XM and her webpage.

In September, we’ll be seeing Bon Iver, who has become very popular in indie circles these days.  After a critically acclaimed debut, his followup just hit shelves (servers is probably more apropos).  Haven’t gotten around to buying it yet, but have liked what I’ve heard.  Being a native of Sarah’s college town of Eau Claire, she’s enthusiastic about him and apparently saw him play in college while he was with one of his earlier bands.  I saw him two years ago at the Black Cat in DC.  It was a great show, and one of the only shows I’ve ever been where the entire audience was completely quiet while he played by himself on an acoustic guitar.  We were surprised we got tickets, because we totally forgot about the ticket sale date.  We checked the next day expecting disappointment, and amazingly found two decent tickets.  Maybe he’s too “small town” for LA?

And then the coup de grace for me came this Friday, when I secured tickets to see Portishead in late October.  They don’t put out albums often, and tour here in the U.S. even less.  They were on a short list of bands I wanted to see very badly but thought I’d never get to see in my lifetime.  So I was psyched when I heard they were touring the U.S., even more so when I saw L.A. on the list, and ecstatic when I got through to buy tickets on the first try last Friday.  Hopefully the show will live up to my expectations, but what I have heard on PYNC a few other recordings, I’m thinking I’ll enjoy it.

Also going to go to at least one day of the Sunset Junction festival in August, which is right in our hood and is going to boast a pretty good lineup of bands.  And at $15, a great value especially since outdoor festivals are usually a lot of fun.  Which reminds me, i forgot the actual last show we saw was the end of the Morning Benders set and Best Coast in Pasadena at the Make Music festival.  They were good sets, though obviously not the most memorable.  Will try and update the blog with reviews of the show, assuming I can remember them all.

Tags: , , , , ,

One Response to “Concert Binge”

  1. Ben Folds – Wiltern, LA « Nothing to Write Home About Says:

    […] Nothing to Write Home About Just another WordPress.com weblog « Concert Binge […]

Leave a Reply

