Treasure Trove

I’ve been absent for awhile but wanted to say a quick word about an article I saw yesterday on NPR’s music page. A huge treasure trove of music has just been released covering American folk, jazz, and a variety of other countries’ music spanning over 50 years. We can thank Alan Lomax for traveling the globe with recording equipment for this massive collection. Interestingly, Lomax envisioned a tool that would allow him to share this music as it appears his main motivation was to share what he was recording. Thankfully, Al Gore invented he internet.

I’ll definitely be checking into this, if nothing else, I’ll be exposed to some music I most certainly have never heard anywhere else! I’ll post some updates on what I’m finding.

Tags: , , ,

Leave a Reply

