Spotify My Soul – April 16

A few things I’ve been listening to on Spotify and a few other places:

  • Shins, Port of Morrow.  Five years since the last full-length release under his Shins moniker, James Mercer hits another one out of the park.  Was a big fan of his work with DangerMouse on the Broken Bells project and had liked the Shins stuff I’d heard before.  He’s got a voice that can tackle a variety of styles with an effortlessness that is matched with some equally varied musical accompaniments.
  • Submarines, Love Notes/Letter Bombs.  Thanks to Erin for mentioning this band to me, she told me her sister was totally obsessing on this group.  Whenever anyone’s really into a band, I want to check it out.  Glad I did, this is some very good guy/girl indie rock.  Especially liked the song Shoelaces.  And they are a LA band, so now I gotta try and find out where they are playing around town.
  • Underworld, 1992-2012 Anthology.  A techno group that kinda got lost in the electronica shuffle of bigger acts like Chemical Brothers and Prodigy, I was always a fan of their sprawling, chugging electronic epics.  You probably know them from their contribution to the Trainspotting soundtrack, Born Slippy, but other tracks like Rez and Cowgirl still sound great close to twenty years later.
  • Jack White, Blunderbuss.  Ok, not a Spotify listen, but this is streaming for free right now on Itunes, and they are conveniently taking pre-orders.  If you were following my Pinterest page, you’d already know this (shameless plug) and have listened to it too.  I just finished it a few minutes ago, still digesting, but I liked it.  Standout to me was track 8, I’m Shakin’, which could easily have been a Black Keys track on Brothers (which is a  compliment in my book).  I think White Stripes fans will like it though it’s a little less stomp and a little more finesse.  I’m less familiar with his other side projects, so can’t really say how they compare to those records.
  • DVA, Nunovo Tango.  A song here instead of a whole album, this song appeared in a wicked 10 minute short of the full-length ski film All.I.Can. that won the Best Feature at this year’s Banff Film Festival.  There’s usually a few songs you hear in films there that have you scanning the song credits.  Sadly, this one didn’t have any credits and I resisted the urge to Shazaam during the screening, so I did some old-fashioned detective work and found it.  It’s just a really fun song with a sound that’s totally original (minus the female vocal around 25 seconds in that I swear is lifted from Portishead though I’m blanking on the song).

Here’s a video that shows the other song (one of my fav LCD Soundsystem tunes) used in the All.I.Can. edit with some amazing urban skiing footage:

Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

