Albums of 2014, Six Months In

I think I’ve listened to more new albums in 2014 than the past few years combined and there’s been a lot of good stuff out so far. Here’s some albums I’ve enjoyed:

1. St. Vincent, s/t. One of the best live shows I’ve been to this year and one of my favorite albums. Favorite song is Huey Newton, but there’s not any stinkers in the whole album and the whole thing rocks.

2. Sun Kil Moon, Benji. Mark Kozelek bares it all (if he has more to bare, I’m not sure I can handle it) on this confessional string of songs. More than that, each song is a vivid story and his lyrics create a great rhythm that complements the mostly spare arrangements.

3. Mac DeMarco, Salad Days. Mac’s songs on this album somehow come off relaxed and rocking at the same time. It’s a great record for sitting out on your porch on a summer night.

4. Parquet Courts, Sunbathing Animal. Overall a slower affair than the last album which I actually enjoy more, especially when they draw out the songs and let the riffs ride.

5. Todd Terje, It’s Album Time. The Norwegian DJ’s first proper LP is a fun, spacey affair that still maintains a cohesion throughout that reminded me of the Chemical Brothers first album, which is a big compliment from me.

Honorable mentions to First Aid Kit, Sharon Jones, Sylvan Esso, Damien Jurado, Hundred Waters, Liars, Angel Olson and Neneh Cherry. Like I said, a lot of good music this year.

Tags: , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

