Quick Hit or Miss – Thao & The Get Down Stay Down, A Man Alive

homepage_large.78ae8af7I listened to this album the other day and then immediately listened to it again.  The reason I did that was because I had to figure out whether this album seemed as good as I thought it was.  I’ve listened to it several more times and that feeling I had the first spin is still there.  This is a really good album.

Thao Nguyen takes on the personal subject of her father abandoning her family when she was young and its affect on her through her life. While this subject matter would lend itself to a dour album, I found this album to be vibrant and uplifting. There are certainly some dark spots, and the dichotomy between that dark and light is part of the album’s appeal.

A big part of that vibrancy is the involvement of Merrill Garbus, who produces here.  You might know her better as the artist Tuneyards.  Her mark on the album is distinct.  The first time through one of the thoughts I had was wow, Thao must really have dug the last Tuneyards album.  The rhythm section in the band is fantastic on this album, in a lot of songs guitar is secondary to the bass and drums.  One other comparison I’d make on the overall album is Beck’s Mellow Gold, with the kitchen sink/collage approach to instrumentation. Keyboards, xylophones, hand claps, tom toms, and various basses are sprinkled throughout the album.

The sequencing of the album is really good as well.  There’s a nice ebb and flow between those upbeat songs and the more downtempo ones.  Stand out tracks for me are Slash/Burn, Fool Forever, Give Me Peace, and closer Endless Love.  Lyrically, that last song really hits home on the duality I mentioned above as Thao starts by proclaiming that she has “an endless love no one can starve” but a little further into the song reveals that she “don’t want it, carve it out of me.”

This is a definite hit for me, I think there’s something here for a wide swath of music fans.  Here’s a link to the video for the leadoff song on the album, Astonished Man.

 

 

Tags: , , , , , ,

One Response to “Quick Hit or Miss – Thao & The Get Down Stay Down, A Man Alive”

  1. 2016 Year End Picks | Nothing to Write Home About Says:

    […] Thao & The Get Down Stay Down, A Man Alive.  This one is in my top 5 for sure this year, can’t understand why it didn’t get love from the critics in year-end lists.  I wrote about it when it came out here. […]

Leave a Reply

