Quick Hit or Miss – Mayer Hawthorne, Man About Town

81Ht6uzTd6L._SY355_I didn’t even know Mayer had a new album coming out until my wife sent a text to me and our friends who used to live in the “valley” here in LA with a new song she’d heard called aptly, The Valley.  This song is one of the highlights of the new record, so makes sense it would get some radio airplay.

After a brief opening track that oddly reminded me of the beginning of Bohemian Rhapsody, this album settles into R&B with an pinch of 80s pop.  A few moments reminded me of Hall and Oates, particularly Book of Broken Hearts.  There’s a few slow jams (Breakfast in Bed and Get You Back) thrown in too.

The Valley has a catchy “oh oh oh” chorus and hand claps that provide a sunny backdrop to a song about a woman trying to escape the “valley” to make it in LA.  My favorite song on the album is the song that comes right before it, Fancy Clothes.  It’s a reggae-tinged song with more horns and guitar than most of the rest of the album.  I think the reason I liked it the most was it stood out as different than the rest of the tracks.

I think that’s my main problem with the album.  It’s good and consistent music with all the songs clocking in between 3:30 and 4 minutes long.  But that consistency can make it a little monotonous on repeated listens.  I’d give it a hit for throwing on in the backyard this summer or cherry-picking a few songs for a summer playlist, but I don’t think this one will keep me coming back.

Here’s Fancy Clothes, one of those songs I’d throw in a playlist:

Tags: , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

